The Ogilvie Public Schools Board of Education has undergone a drastic change in membership throughout the past year and will have even more after school board elections take place Nov. 5.

The changes began when board member Paula Anderson resigned effective March, 2019. The board appointed Tim Peterson to fill her seat. 

The board was further rocked when member Keith Hass died June 13, 2019, after a 13-month long fight with brain cancer. Hass had been a school board member since 2008. 

Nathan Koenings was appointed to the seat previously held by Hass, and sworn in on Aug. 12. 

On July 8, the school board accepted the resignation of board member Jeff DeYoung, effective Dec. 31, 2019. DeYoung will be leaving with two-years left on his term. This partial-term seat will be up for election on Nov. 5. 

On the ballot

There are six total seats on the Ogilvie school board. Three seats on the board up for election for four-year terms. Three incumbents are on the ballot and one challenger:

Gerald DeBoer (incumbent)

Nathan Koenings (incumbent)

Tim Peterson (incumbent)

Josh Smith

Two candidates have filed in the election for DeYoung’s two-year term seat:

Casey Heins

Stacy Thoeny

Ogilvie schools will host a “Meet the Candidate” public forum 6 p.m. Monday, Oct. 21 in the board room.

Voting will take place Tuesday, Nov. 5 from 7 a.m. - 8 p.m. at the Ogilvie City Hall, 102 N Hill Ave, Ogilvie.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.